You're reading...
Jane Changes, Life

Honor The Slump Then Move On ~ Jane Keeps Swinging


Just keep swinging

Just keep swinging

“My motto was always to keep swinging. Whether I was in a slump or feeling badly or having trouble off the field, the only thing to do was keep swinging.” ~ Hank Aaron

I love sports quotes and movies because they always seem to be focused on the great comeback, or the underdog that does the impossible.  Life ebbs and flows for all of us and sometimes we hit a slump.  I am currently in one.  Logically, I am aware that my state of mind has a great impact on my life and success.  My past pivotal moments have proven if I stay focused on the positive I will be ready when a door opens.  However, in this moment emotionally I feel as if I have no swings left.

I am in a career centered around quotas, ranking and goals and for some reason over the past 18 months I have yet to reach that grove I normally slip into rather easily.  I have lived a blessed life. No matter the challenges I have faced I have stayed positive and come out the other side a little better.  However, this slump seems to be taking a little more out of me.

So, while I am going to take Hank Aaron’s advice and keep “Swinging” tonight I am going to honor my frustration.  I am not going to talk about it, or let it fester.  I am going to just observe it and allow myself to feel all the emotions I need to today.  Then tomorrow morning I am going to take the approach of John Farrell, Red Sox Manager when he came in and urged his team to focus on the present; one day, one game at a time.  The Red Sox went from being in last place in the AL East in 2012 to winning the World Series in 2013.

We can’t undo the past, we have no idea what the future holds.  Today, we have the ability to do something which can shape our lives and the lives of those around us.  What am I going to do with this day so it has some purpose or value?  Live in the present, one day at a time and then let it slip away.  Allow the new day to be full of unlimited opportunity.

Jane Changes

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

Archives

