You're reading...
Jane Changes, Life, Quotes

Pivotal Moments Change Jane


You decide how lifes situations shape who you are

You decide how lifes situations shape who you are

Action and reaction, ebb and flow, trial and error, change – this is the rhythm of living. Out of our over-confidence, fear; out of our fear, clearer vision, fresh hope. And out of hope, progress. ~ Bruce Barton

Throughout our lives we have numerous pivotal moments where we have the opportunity to decide how we will allow that moment to impact us.  Will the loss of a spouse too early in life cause us to resent life and others who still have theirs with them; or instead will it allow us to reflect on the gift we had in the love we shared.

Those people we encounter in life that seem to know happiness and understand how to have it with them more often than not have learned they have the choice over how they let those moments impact them.  They refuse to be defined by matters outside of their control and instead have altered who they are and how they view the world by those moments.

One of those first pivotal moments for me was around the age of 12 at a family holiday.  I had aunts that seemed determined to never let go of the past and every holiday turned into a fight over something from years ago.  This year was different, as I sat there listening to the yelling and watching the body language and resentment, I realize I did not want this life.  I did not want to be the person years after the situation had past still carrying around all this anger.  The person they were yelling out wasn’t holding onto it.  They had long since moved past it.

From that moment I made a decision I would limit how long I allowed myself to be upset or angry over anything in life.  I would not carry it with me into the future and let it limit my ability to be happy.  It is one of the best choices I have made.

Jane Changes

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

Archives

