You're reading...
Friendships, Life

We Define Who We Are


We decide who we are

We decide who we are

“Anger will never disappear so long as thoughts of resentment are cherished in the mind. Anger will disappear just as soon as thoughts of resentment are forgotten.” ~ Buddha

As I have grown older I have become more observant of others and myself.  There are people I know who never have a conflict with a friend.  Their life appears completely drama free.  Yet, there under the surface are these thoughts and opinions which they never voice.  Someone doesn’t make an effort during a time of need.  Someone says something which hurts their feelings.  The list goes on and on.   Then, I have other friends who speak their mind yet, in such a way you would never object.  You are left to wonder how at times their life is drama free.

If I look at the quote from Buddha, and I wonder what he means exactly by thoughts of resentment.  I have no resentment towards others, other than resenting the feeling of living by rules separate rules than those they try to apply to me.  If I pause long enough I wonder, why would someone want people in our lives that do this.  People who feel they can say and do what they want, yet you must abide by different rules.

As I sit here on a Saturday night and look through pictures I am putting together for a birthday present I think I know why we do.  These people are a piece of our lives.  They have been a witness to our journey, shared a laugh or a smile and maybe even a tear.  They live within us and us within them.  We feel pulled into the need to feel that connection and sometimes at the expense of our own peace.

However, if we learn to think like Buddha suggests, we do not need to hold onto any resentments.  Instead, we must realize who we are is only defined by what we allow ourselves to accept.  We can stand up for ourselves without doing it in anger. We are no more or no less than any other person. C.Nordyke

Discussion

6 thoughts on “We Define Who We Are

  1. such a piece of gem
    appreciate that

    Posted by Riz | November 9, 2013, 11:37 pm
  2. A friend explained a similar vision to me. Time I started listening. ..beautiful post!

    Posted by ellebelle75 | November 10, 2013, 4:16 am
  3. Very true words indeed 🙂

    Posted by suzjones | November 10, 2013, 5:28 am
  4. Thanks for the counselling.

    Posted by Akinbode Isiaka Abayomi | December 13, 2013, 1:08 pm
  5. It is food for thought.

    Posted by Akinbode Isiaka Abayomi | December 13, 2013, 1:37 pm
  6. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy
    that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us
    informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

    Posted by make a paper gun | May 13, 2014, 5:54 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

Archives

