You're reading...
Relationships, Self, Success

Just Because I Don’t Agree Doesn’t Mean I Don’t Support You


We all have to make our own choices

We all have to make our own choices

“I do not agree with a word that you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it” ~Voltaire

There is an internal conflict we often have with ourselves if we are honest.  Sometimes our heart wants what our mind knows we shouldn’t.  Sometime our mouths crave a snack we have promised we would give up.  This internal conflict goes on and we seldom question if we are true to ourselves or love ourselves.

However, take a friend or family member to disagree with us and suddenly there are all these doubts and questions we have.  I love my daughter and for the most part now she is an adult we agree on many topics.  There have been and will be many more times when I may not agree, regardless this does not mean I am not there for her.

It is completely possible to love and support a person even though you may think what they are doing is not the best choice.  We say we want honesty and if that is the case than we have to be willing to accept others will not always agree with us or our choices.  That doesn’t mean they aren’t going to be there for us if we need them.

Support of another’s hopes and dreams is part of being a friend and family.

C.Nordyke

 

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Just Because I Don’t Agree Doesn’t Mean I Don’t Support You

  1. So true. I remember receiving a card from my sister thanking me for not siding with her on times when she was so clouded by selfish desires. Nice post!

    Posted by mockingbird181984 | November 2, 2013, 2:36 am
  2. Support and agreement are two very different things.

    Posted by laura | November 2, 2013, 7:22 pm
  3. I posted this to my son’s FB page. He is nearly 12 years’ old and about to enter puberty. It rings so very much home to me as this is exactly what was not done when I was a child and a youngster. It caused me to feel that I and my opinions and feelings did not count until I was way into my adulthood.

    Posted by cdebaets | November 3, 2013, 10:35 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Free Thoughts from a Free Thinker…Hmmmm | Let me tell U a story - November 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 473 other followers

Archives

